

# 2024 South Dakota Legislature

# House Bill 1130 ENROLLED

An Act

## **ENTITLED** An Act to revise water development district boundaries.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:

### Section 1. That § 46A-3A-3 be AMENDED:

**46A-3A-3.** The East Dakota Water Development District is hereby established. The district includes:

- (1) All of Minnehaha, Moody, Brookings, Hamlin, Deuel, Codington and Grant counties;
- (2) All of Lake County, with the exception of Clarno, Concord, Orland, Wayne, and Winfred townships;
- (3) Badger township in Kingsbury County; and
- (4) All municipalities that are wholly or partially within the included area or that are contiguous to the included area.

#### Section 2. That § 46A-3A-7.1 be AMENDED:

**46A-3A-7.1.** The Vermillion Basin Water Development District is hereby established. The district includes:

- (1) All of Turner, McCook, and Clay counties;
- (2) All of Kingsbury County, with the exception of Badger township;
- (3) Clarno, Concord, Orland, Wayne, and Winfred townships in Lake County;
- (4) Adams, Belleview, Canova, Clearwater, Grafton, Henden, Howard, and Vermillion townships in Miner County; and
- (5) All municipalities that are wholly or partially within the included area.

#### Section 3. That § 46A-3B-2.1 be AMENDED:

**46A-3B-2.1.** For any water development district having director areas that will be realigned as a result of § 46A-3B-2, any director of the district who is in office on January

1, 2024, shall continue to serve as a director if the director remains a resident of the district.

#### **Section 4. That § 46A-3E-1 be AMENDED:**

**46A-3E-1.** A water development district board of directors may levy taxes, not to exceed thirty cents per thousand dollars of taxable valuation in the district, for accomplishment of the purposes of chapters 46A-3A to 46A-3E, inclusive, and chapters 46A-1 and 46A-2. If an area is included in more than one water development district, that area's tax levy payable to each of the water development districts is determined by multiplying the greater of the overlapping water development districts' levies by each water development district's taxing fraction. Each water development district's taxing fraction is determined by dividing that water development district's proposed tax levy for the overlapped area by the sum of all water development districts' levies for the overlapped area.

An Act to revise water development district boundaries.

I certify that the attached Act originate the: House as Bill No. 1130	Received at this Executive Office ed in this day of,  2024 atM.
Chief (	By
Speaker of the H Attest:	The attached Act is hereby approved this day of ouse, A.D., 2024
Chief 0	STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA, SS.
President of the Se	Office of the Secretary of State  enate  Filed, 2024  at o'clockM.
Secretary of the Se	enate Secretary of State
House Bill No. <u>1130</u> File No Chapter No	By Asst. Secretary of State