HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1005

- Introduced by: Representatives Parsley, Bartling, Bolin, Cammack, Campbell, Carson, Craig, Cronin, Dryden, Duvall, Ecklund, Erickson, Feickert, Feinstein, Gibson, Greenfield, Haggar (Don), Haggar (Jenna), Hajek, Hansen, Hawks, Hawley, Heinemann (Leslie), Heinert, Hickey, Hoffman, Hunhoff (Bernie), Johns, Kaiser, Killer, Kirschman, Kopp, Latterell, Magstadt, May, Miller, Nelson, Novstrup (David), Olson (Betty), Otten (Herman), Peterson, Qualm, Rasmussen, Ring, Romkema, Rounds, Rozum, Russell, Schaefer, Schoenfish, Schrempp, Sly, Soli, Solum, Stalzer, Steele, Stevens, Tulson, Tyler, Verchio, Werner, Westra, Wick, Wink, and Wismer and Senators Frerichs, Adelstein, Begalka, Bradford, Brown, Buhl, Ewing, Heineman (Phyllis), Holien, Hunhoff (Jean), Jensen, Johnston, Jones, Kirkeby, Lederman, Lucas, Maher, Monroe, Novstrup (Al), Olson (Russell), Omdahl, Otten (Ernie), Rave, Rhoden, Soholt, Sutton, Tidemann, Tieszen, Van Gerpen, Vehle, Welke, and White
- A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Commending and honoring the 2012 Habitat for Humanity South Dakota Habitat Supporters of the Year.

WHEREAS, Habitat for Humanity - South Dakota recently celebrated the hard work and volunteers of the fourteen local Habitat for Humanity affiliates throughout South Dakota by recognizing the work of the Habitat Supporters of the Year at the 2012 Fundraiser and Recognition Banquet; and

WHEREAS, Habitat for Humanity throughout South Dakota has achieved another milestone by the construction of the 404th home in South Dakota, which construction resulted from the generosity of countless volunteers, as well as many sweat equity hours contributed by the homeowner families; and

WHEREAS, Habitat for Humanity throughout South Dakota has impacted an additional 62 families via the Neighborhood Revitalization Program - A Brush with Kindness, which serves low

750 copies of this document were printed by the South Dakota Legislative Research Council at a cost of \$.015 per page.



Insertions into existing statutes are indicated by <u>underscores</u>. Deletions from existing statutes are indicated by overstrikes. income homeowners by assisting them with minor repairs to the exteriors of their homes; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that the South Dakota Legislature acknowledge the unselfish work of these Habitat Supporters of the Year toward the goal of creating affordable housing and eliminating poverty housing in South Dakota:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-Eighth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that Don Burdick, Scott McCaskell, Sue Jarvis, Larson Manufacturing and the Larson Family Foundation, Mike Kreamer, Marilyn Peterson, 3M of Aberdeen, Maurice Hartmann, Lutheran Memorial Church of Pierre, Patti Linngren, Jo Wayrynen, First United Methodist Church of Yankton, Home Federal Loan Bank, and Home Federal Bank have achieved the distinction of Habitat for Humanity Supporters of the Year for 2012 in South Dakota.