HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1016

Introduced by: Representatives Bartling and Qualm and Senators Sutton and Heinert

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring and commending the 2014 Gregory High School Football Team.

WHEREAS, the 2014 Gregory Gorillas football team finished the 2014 season with a 12-0 record; and

WHEREAS, the Gregory Gorillas football team defeated the Woonsocket-Wessington Springs-Sanborn Central Blackhawks 31-8 in the 9AA championship game, finalizing an impressive playoff run; and

WHEREAS, the Gregory Gorillas football team has been a dominating force in South Dakota high school football with appearances in the state playoffs during the years of 1981, 1984, 1996, 1997, 2001, and 2003 in the 11-man class, earning runner-up titles and a state championship title in 1998; and

WHEREAS, the Gregory Gorillas football team has continued its momentum in the 9-man class with playoff appearances in 2007, earning the runner-up title and in 2014, capturing the state championship title:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninetieth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the South Dakota Legislature commends the Gregory High School Football Team for winning the state 9AA championship, and seniors Kurt Braun, Jonah Beck, Mitchel Klundt, Brandon Warnke, Dowain Kerner, Damon Eagle Star, Cole Carter, Gavin Thomas, Mason Juracek, Lukas Kirkely of Denmark, Fabio Stocker of Germany, student manager Dustin Soesbe, and cheerleader Kristen Holmberg, and head coach Brian Allmendinger and all of the team's coaching staff, managers, cheerleaders, volunteers, and fans be commended for their outstanding efforts in the 2014 season.

