HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1022

Introduced by: Representatives Tyler, Bartling, Campbell, Ecklund, Feickert, Feinstein, Hawks, Hawley, Heinert, Hickey, Hunhoff (Bernie), Johns, Kaiser, Kirschman, Kopp, Langer, Magstadt, Nelson, Olson (Betty), Parsley, Peterson, Qualm, Ring, Schrempp, Sly, Verchio, and Wismer and Senators Heineman (Phyllis), Lucas, and Omdahl

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Congratulating and celebrating the FIRST LEGO League (FLL) championship teams of South Dakota.

WHEREAS, the FLL was brought to South Dakota by Dr. Alan Swanson in 2008 after he recognized the need for a program which would emphasize science, technology, engineering, and math. This event has since grown from fourteen teams in 2008 to eighty-two teams competing in five qualifying tournaments. The FLL is a volunteer program that requires hundreds of hours of work for teams to accomplish their goals; and

WHEREAS, the South Dakota Robotics Association (SDRA) was organized to teach robotics and engineering classes and to allow South Dakota to become an official FLL region. Over one thousand students have benefitted from SDRA camps and classes, and approximately six hundred students competed in the 2014 FIRST LEGO League Challenge; and

WHEREAS, studies show that FLL participants show a greater interest in science, technology, computers, robots, and problem solving. Students who participate in this "Sport for the Mind" learn thinking skills, problem solving skills, work-place related skills, and research skills; and

WHEREAS, twelve of the 2014 FLL competition, F-6, Robo Hobos, Irrationals, Omnitechniks, Boss Robotics, Nindroids, Teenage Mutant Ninja Wombats, Mickelson Mindstorm Squad, the Energizers, Techno Kids, Lords of Legos, and Ladies of Legos (L.O.Ls) were winners in various divisions. Charron's Dark Knights and Caffeinated Bacon Bits placed first and second and will represent South Dakota in international competition this summer:



NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-Ninth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that these teams be congratulated for their outstanding accomplishments in the 2014 FIRST LEGO League Championship.