HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1025

Introduced by: Representatives Feinstein, Blake, Deelstra, Elliott, Hawley, Hickey, Kirschman, and Tornow and Senators Cutler and Peters

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring Hannah Gacke, Jared Koch, and Aleksey Voznyuk from Washington High School in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, as finalists for the Merit Scholarship Awards.

WHEREAS, the National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955; and

WHEREAS, Hannah Gacke, Jared Koch, and Aleksey Voznyuk, Washington High School seniors, were named as finalists in the 2011 Merit Scholarship Program competition; and

WHEREAS, these three individuals have displayed remarkable knowledge and critical reading, mathematics, and writing skills, as well as great individual effort and initiative, which will benefit them well in the pursuit of their personal, educational, and life goals; and

WHEREAS, each received letters of commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise; and

WHEREAS, these students have excelled academically by meeting high academic standards and have been selected out of one and one-half million other entrants to advance to finalist status, whereby they join an elite group representing the nation's best and brightest high school students:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-sixth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that Hannah Gacke, Jared Koch, and Aleksey Voznyuk be commemorated and honored on being selected as finalists in the 2011 Merit Scholarship competition.

