HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1044

Introduced by: Representatives Nelson (Stace), Abdallah, Blake, Bolin, Boomgarden, Brunner, Carson, Conzet, Cronin, Deelstra, Dennert, Dryden, Elliott, Fargen, Feickert, Feinstein, Gibson, Gosch, Greenfield, Haggar, Hansen (Jon), Hawley, Hickey, Hoffman, Hubbel, Hunhoff (Bernie), Hunt, Iron Cloud III, Jensen, Jones, Juhnke, Killer, Kirkeby, Kirschman, Kloucek, Kopp, Liss, Lucas, Lust, Magstadt, Miller, Moser, Munsterman, Novstrup (David), Olson (Betty), Perry, Rausch, Romkema, Rozum, Russell, Schaefer, Schrempp, Sigdestad, Sly, Solum, Steele, Street, Stricherz, Tornow, Tulson, Turbiville, Van Gerpen, Vanneman, Venner, Verchio, White, Wick, Willadsen, Wink, and Wismer and Senators Rave, Adelstein, Begalka, Bradford, Brown, Buhl, Cutler, Frerichs, Fryslie, Garnos, Gray, Hansen (Tom), Haverly, Heineman, Holien, Hundstad, Hunhoff (Jean), Johnston, Kraus, Krebs, Lederman, Maher, Nelson (Tom), Novstrup (Al), Nygaard, Olson (Russell), Peters, Putnam, Rampelberg, Rhoden, Schlekeway, Sutton, Tidemann, Tieszen, and Vehle

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Commending and honoring Sgt. Tanner Haines for his selection as the South Dakota Army National Guard Noncommissioned Officer of the Year (NCO) award.

WHEREAS, Sgt. Tanner Haines, a resident of Sioux Falls, decided in January of 2004 to join the National Guard to serve his country; and

WHEREAS, Sgt. Haines, an assistant ammunition chief with Alpha Battery, 1/147th Field Artillery, Aberdeen, has served his country with honor, deploying twice since joining, first deploying with Charlie Battery, 1/147th Field Artillery, in 2005-2006, and more recently to Kuwait with Alpha Battery, 1/147th Field Artillery, in 2009-2010; and

WHEREAS, as noted by the South Dakota Army National Guard State Command, Haines is a very studied NCO who leads from the front; and



WHEREAS, Sgt. Haines' performance is in keeping with the highest traditions established by South Dakota's veterans and the United States Armed Forces:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-sixth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that Sgt. Tanner Haines be congratulated and honored as a recipient of the South Dakota Army National Guard Noncommissioned Officer of the Year (NCO) award, be recognized for his outstanding service and outstanding representation of the State of South Dakota, and be extended the best wishes for his continued success, happiness, and safety.