HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1044

Introduced by: Representatives Feinstein, Kirschman, Mickelson, and Westra and Senators Buhl O'Donnell, Heineman (Phyllis), and Soholt

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Commending and honoring National Merit Semifinalists Hannah Asfelt, Sean Calhoun, Pranam Dey, Shelley Feng, Colten Fisher, and Jeremy Mettler of Sioux Falls Lincoln High School for their outstanding academic achievements.

WHEREAS, the National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955; and

WHEREAS, students Hannah Asfelt, Sean Calhoun, Pranam Dey, Shelley Feng, Colten Fisher, and Jeremy Mettler of Lincoln High School have shown exemplary patience, dedication, and excellence in academics; and

WHEREAS, all members of Lincoln High School helped facilitate and cultivate the academic, mental, and emotional growth and development of these students; and

WHEREAS, all the Semifinalists received letters of commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise and are AP scholars as well as participants in numerous organizations and community activities; and

WHEREAS, these students have excelled academically by meeting high academic standards and have been selected from one and one-half million other entrants to advance to Semifinalist status, whereby they join an elite group representing that nation's best and brightest high school students:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-Ninth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that Hannah Asfelt, Sean Calhoun, Pranam Dey, Shelley Feng, Colten Fisher, and Jeremy Mettler be congratulated on the success of their exceptional academic performances.

