South Dakota Legislature

House Commemoration 8020

Introduced by: **Representatives** Sue Peterson, Bartels, Barthel, Beal, Bordeaux, Borglum, Chase, Deutsch, Diedrich, Duvall, Finck, Frye-Mueller, Glanzer, Goodwin, Gosch, Lana Greenfield, Howard, Hunhoff, Johns, Karr, Koth, Mills, Milstead, Herman Otten, Perry, Kent Peterson, Qualm, Randolph, Rasmussen, Reed, Rounds, Steele, Wangsness, Weis, and Wiese and **Senators** Kolbeck, Bolin, Curd, Duhamel, Nesiba, Novstrup, Partridge, Schoenbeck, V. J. Smith, Soholt, and Steinhauer

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, To honor the Sioux Falls O'Gorman Knights as the 2019 Class 11 AAA State High School Football Champions.

WHEREAS, the 2019 Sioux Falls O'Gorman Knights football team is led by head coach Jayson Poppinga, and assistant coaches, Shannon Poppinga, Vinnie Olsen, Alex Anderson, Austin Wagner, Greg McKinstry, Layne Hohn, Alexander Gray, Barry Nagel; and

WHEREAS, during the 2019 season, the O'Gorman Knights team roster included 25 seniors and 64 varsity players:

Seniors: (#1) Kaden Hackman, (#4) Tip Reiman, (#5) John Kunkel, (#13) Zach Norton, (#16) Logan Jones, (#17) Gunnar Jones, (#19) Drew Krouse, (#20) Grant Smith, (#22) Alex Kowalczyk, (#23) Jacob Wuestewald, (#24) Jacob Byrd, (#27) Daniel Ratzloff, (#30) Tate Wishard, (#32) Jordan Dahl, (#36) Joe Larson, (#37) Joe Mattecheck, (#44) Jonah Wuebben, (#45) Cade Mikuska, (#50) Jacob Doeden, (#51) Ronnie Bargmann, (#52) KG Gebreziabher, (#64) Patrick Wilde, (#70) Liam Sorensen, (#72) Lucas Berthelsen, and (#77) Will Washenberger; and

Juniors: (#2) Sam Stukel, (#3) Michael Shea, (#6) Beau Beavers, (#9) Harry Hueners, (#10) Teegan Schlimgen, (#14) Conor Pavelko, (#25) Jacob Schwab, (#34) Carson Langston, (#40) Thomas Clinton, (#42) Gavin Cotter, (#54) Jacob Bain, (#55) Eddie Meylor, (#60) Matthew Winterton, (#63) John Mieras, (#66) Matt Peters, (#68) Will Weisensee, and (#71) Deven Brenner; and

Sophomores: (#7) Tristin VanWassenhove, (#8) Rush Landry, (#11) Maverick Jarding, (#12) Preston Konechne, (#15) Andrew Nelson, (#18) Jack White, (#21) Logan Hight, (#26) Emanuel Struck, (#28) Luke Gulseth, (#29) Austin Antonen, (#31) Wyatt Hermsen, (#33) Anders Mattecheck, (#35) Quinn Dunham, (#38) Easton Beavers, (#39) Carter Petersen, (#41) Ryan Bornhoft, (#53) Peter Benson, (#56) Chase Wagner, (#57) Zach Carlson, (#58) Chase Harris, (#59) Matthew Viehweg, and (#74) William Peterson; and

Manager: Molly Johnson; Statistician: Mark Petrasko; Athletic Trainer: Tiffany Giese; Superintendent: Kyle Groos; Principal: Joan Mahoney; and Athletic Director: Steve Kueter; and

WHEREAS, the Knights won the school's first 11 AAA State Championship football title on November 15, 2019, at the Dana J. Dykhouse Stadium on the campus of South Dakota State University; and

WHEREAS, it was the ninth football state title in school history, and the Knights' first football State Championship title since their back-to-back state titles in 2004 and 2005; and

South Dakota Legislature



WHEREAS, the team fought back from multiple injuries and two early-season losses to win eight straight games; and

WHEREAS, exemplifying excellence and team unity, the O'Gorman Knights scored two third-quarter touchdowns to rally past defending state champions Brandon Valley to a final score of 21-16:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Fifth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Sioux Falls O'Gorman Knights football team be congratulated as the 2019 Class 11 AAA State High School Football Champions!