## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 1001

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, Recognizing the outstanding public service of President Harry Truman.

WHEREAS, Harry Truman was born in 1884 at Lamar, Missouri, and spent most of his life in Independence, Missouri; and

WHEREAS, Harry Truman served honorably in the United States Army in Europe during the First World War; and

WHEREAS, Harry Truman married Bess Wallace in 1919, to whom he was married for fiftythree years until his death in 1972; and

WHEREAS, Harry Truman was elected as a local county official in 1922 in Jackson County, Missouri, and faithfully promoted improved transportation projects during his tenure; and

WHEREAS, Harry Truman was elected to the United States Senate in 1934, re-elected in 1940, and elected Vice President of the United States in 1944; and

WHEREAS, after serving as Vice President for only eighty-two days, Harry Truman became the President of the United States following the tragic death of President Franklin Roosevelt; and

WHEREAS, during his presidency many crucial decisions were made including the decision to use the atomic bomb to end the Second World War, the adoption of the Marshall Plan to rebuild Europe, and the policy of containment to deal with the threat of Communism in the world; and

WHEREAS, Harry Truman was elected President in his own right in 1948 in an upset victory, and led the nation until his term ended on January 20, 1953, at which time he returned to Missouri, seeking neither fame nor excessive financial gain as an ex-president:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the House of Representatives of the Ninety-First Legislature of the State of South Dakota, the Senate concurring therein, that the Legislature of the State of South Dakota does hereby honor Harry S. Truman, the thirty-third President of the United States, for his steadfast leadership of the United States of America, and that a copy of this resolution be sent to the Truman Library in Independence, Missouri.

Adopted by the House of Representatives, Concurred in by the Senate, January 20, 2016 January 22, 2016

Dean Wink Speaker of the House Arlene Kvislen Chief Clerk of the House

Matt Michels President of the Senate Kay Johnson Secretary of the Senate