HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 1002

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, Recognizing the great need and offering support for additional mental health services in western South Dakota.

WHEREAS, South Dakota is experiencing a mental health crisis, and the state is one of five states that allow a person experiencing a mental health crisis to be held in a correctional facility; and

WHEREAS, mental illness and substance use disorders are treatable health conditions but often persons in crisis end up at an emergency room in the custody of the criminal justice system; and

WHEREAS, the organizations who deal with this issue in this state strongly urge that the State of South Dakota increases the level of resources provided to accomplish the goal of establishing additional mental health services in western South Dakota, including consideration of a second Human Services Center; and

WHEREAS, western South Dakota would benefit from additional services that could provide a continuum of care for people in need of mental health services that would be less costly than jails, emergency rooms, or traveling across the state for services; and

WHEREAS, the current Human Services center located in Yankton, South Dakota, is a significant geographic barrier for any person in need of services who is from West River, as it removes the person from his or her core support system and familiar setting; and

WHEREAS, additional mental health services in western South Dakota would fill serious gaps in care, location, resources, and services available for safety and appropriate treatment for persons suffering from mental health issues:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the House of Representatives of the Ninety-Third Legislature of the State of South Dakota, the Senate concurring therein, that the Legislature offers its support and recognizes the great need for additional mental health services in western South Dakota. Adopted by the House of Representatives, Concurred in by the Senate, January 22, 2018 January 24, 2018

G. Mark Mickelson Speaker of the House Sandra J. Zinter Chief Clerk of the House

Matt Michels President of the Senate Kay Johnson Secretary of the Senate