SENATE COMMEMORATION NO. 8

Introduced by: Senators Tidemann, Buhl O'Donnell, Hunhoff (Bernie), Soholt, and Sutton and Representatives Bartling, Duvall, Hawley, Kaiser, Novstrup (Al), Schoenbeck, and Solum

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring the 2015 South Dakota Boys & Girls Clubs of America's Youth of the Year finalists.

WHEREAS, Morgan Kalhoff, Boys & Girls Club of Aberdeen; Mackenzie Sarratt, Boys & Girls Club of the Capital Area; Dylan Borgstrom, Boys & Girls Club of Brookings, Inc.; Kaleb Hartley, Boys & Girls Clubs of the Missouri River Area; Shaheem Rhodes, Boys & Girls Club of the Sioux Empire; and Ashley Berkey, Boys & Girls Club of Watertown, belong to a Boys & Girls Club in South Dakota and have been selected to represent their respective club in the state Youth of the Year Program; and

WHEREAS, the Youth of the Year Program is the Boys & Girls Club of the America's premier youth recognition program for club members which promotes and celebrates service to the club, community, and family; academic performance; moral character; life goals; and poise and public speaking ability; and

WHEREAS, Disney, Toyota, the University of Phoenix, and the Taco Bell Foundation for Teens generously sponsor the Boys & Girls Clubs of America's Youth of the Year program; and

WHEREAS, one of these club members will be selected to represent South Dakota in the national Youth of the Year program; and

WHEREAS, these club members have demonstrated exemplary accomplishments in the areas of leadership, community service, character development, academics, fitness, poise, and public speaking:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninetieth Legislature of the State of



Insertions into existing statutes are indicated by <u>underscores</u>. Deletions from existing statutes are indicated by overstrikes. South Dakota, that Morgan Kalhoff, Boys & Girls Club of Aberdeen; Mackenzie Sarratt, Boys & Girls Club of the Capital Area; Dylan Borgstrom, Boys & Girls Club of Brookings, Inc.; Kaleb Hartley, Boys & Girls Clubs of the Missouri River Area; Shaheem Rhodes, Boys & Girls Club of the Sioux Empire; and Ashley Berkey, Boys & Girls Club of Watertown, are commended for their outstanding achievements, and that appreciation is extended to Boys & Girls Club of America, Disney, Toyota, the University of Phoenix, and the Taco Bell Foundation for Teens for their work in promoting and celebrating these achievements through the Youth of the Year Program.