## **State of South Dakota**

EIGHTY-EIGHTH SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2013

219U0582

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 5

- Introduced by: Senators Sutton, Adelstein, Begalka, Bradford, Brown, Buhl, Ewing, Frerichs, Holien, Johnston, Jones, Kirkeby, Krebs, Lederman, Lucas, Maher, Novstrup (Al), Olson (Russell), Omdahl, Otten (Ernie), Rhoden, Tidemann, Van Gerpen, Vehle, Welke, and White and Representatives Qualm, Bartling, Bolin, Cammack, Campbell, Carson, Conzet, Craig, Cronin, Dryden, Duvall, Ecklund, Erickson, Feickert, Feinstein, Gibson, Gosch, Haggar (Don), Haggar (Jenna), Hajek, Hansen, Hawks, Hawley, Heinemann (Leslie), Heinert, Hickey, Hoffman, Hunhoff (Bernie), Johns, Kaiser, Killer, Kirschman, Kopp, Latterell, Lust, Magstadt, May, Mickelson, Miller, Munsterman, Nelson, Novstrup (David), Olson (Betty), Otten (Herman), Parsley, Peterson, Rasmussen, Ring, Romkema, Rounds, Rozum, Schaefer, Schoenfish, Schrempp, Sly, Soli, Solum, Stalzer, Steele, Stevens, Tulson, Tyler, Verchio, Werner, Westra, Wick, Wink, and Wismer
- 1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, Commending the Jobs for America's Graduates (JAG) pilot 2 program at Wagner Community School, and honoring Sage Zephier for delivering the 3 student address for the JAG National Leadership Awards Luncheon in Washington. 4 WHEREAS, Jobs for America's Graduates (JAG) is a state-based national nonprofit organization dedicated to helping students stay in school through graduation, pursue 5 6 postsecondary education, and secure quality entry-level jobs leading to career advancement 7 opportunities; and 8 WHEREAS, the JAG pilot program at Wagner Community School is helping Wagner area
- 9 students between seventh and twelfth grades develop leadership skills, participate in community



service, prepare for college, and identify high quality careers; and

1

2 WHEREAS, the Wagner Community School, staff, and JAG specialists including 3 Superintendent Susan Smit, High School Principal Neil Goter, Middle School Principal Steve 4 Petry, and JAG specialists Renee VanDerWerff, Tana Langdeaux, Vanessa Iverson, and John 5 Tyler have been successfully leading the program with its first graduating class in 2013; and 6 WHEREAS, the 2013 graduating class includes Cheyenne Eldredge, Laurelle Gunhammer, 7 Noah Leines, Joseph Mattis, Clarissa Medicine Horn, Clifford O'Connor, Korey Patterson, Tyler 8 Provost, Sierra Williamson, Alexander "Zane" Zephier, Sage Zephier; and 9 WHEREAS, among the graduating class, Sage Zephier was selected from more than forty-10 three thousand JAG students nationwide to deliver the student address for the JAG National 11 Leadership Awards Luncheon in front of one thousand attendees in Washington: 12 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the Eighty-Eighth Legislature 13 of the State of South Dakota, the House of Representatives concurring therein, that the 14 Legislature commends Wagner Community School, staff, and students in JAG for their efforts 15 to help South Dakota students succeed; and 16 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Legislature honors Sage Zephier for delivering the 17 student address for the JAG National Leadership Awards Luncheon in Washington.