## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1000**

## By Hicks G

A RESOLUTION to congratulate the Rogersville City School girls' basketball team upon winning the TMSAA Class A state championship.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that this General Assembly should salute those student athletes who, through their extraordinary efforts, have distinguished themselves as true champions of whom we can all be proud; and

WHEREAS, one such exemplary group of young athletes is the Rogersville City School girls' basketball team, whose members have proven themselves to be the fiercest of competitors by winning the Tennessee Middle School Athletic Association (TMSAA) Class A state championship; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Warriors made history during their standout season, bringing home Rogersville City School's first TMSAA state championship and setting the school record for most wins with an undefeated 28-0 season; and

WHEREAS, Rogersville celebrated its first official state championship in 1926, making the Rogersville City School girls' basketball team only the second team in Hawkins County history to win a state championship; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Warriors faced fierce opponents in each round of the state tournament, defeating Homestead Elementary School in the semifinals and claiming a 61-24 victory in the championship game against West Junior High School; and

WHEREAS, the members of this championship team include Laney Bradley; Elin Bryan; Kenady Deal; Natalie Fields; Karlie Gray; Lilla Harrell; Harlen Hayes; Addie Lawson; Chloe Pearson; Kyrah Pope; Rylee Sivert; Molli Stuffle; and Carter Thurman; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Deal eclipsed the 1,000 career point this season, becoming the first player in school history to achieve the feat; she led the Lady Warriors with five assists and fifteen points in the state championship game; and

WHEREAS, in addition to being state champions, the Lady Warriors are Sevier County
Holiday Hoopin' champions, Jefferson County Christmas Tournament champions, both Area 3
Conference and Tournament champions, and Section 1 champions; and

WHEREAS, this championship season may not have been possible without the stellar leadership and support of Head Coach LaTosha Jackson; Assistant Coach Kelsey Trent; cheerleaders Anna Mae Boyd, Avery Carmack, Emma Dixon, Kinley Elkins, Briannah Floyd, Ava Gibson, Caroline Hicks, Kambrie Hilton, Paislee Hopkins, Carrie Ruth Lawson, Eliza Posey, Ainsley Price, and Rhealyn Steele; and cheer sponsors Laken Russell and Taylor Wolfe; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Rogersville City School girls' basketball team epitomize all that is good in today's student athletes, as they have achieved a premier level of success in competition while exhibiting the highest degree of character in all aspects of life; and

WHEREAS, the perseverance, determination, work ethic, and talent of this group of young women not only made possible a championship season but also surely bode well for their future success; and

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly find it appropriate to pause in their deliberations to acknowledge and applaud the members of the Rogersville City School girls' basketball team on their championship season; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED
THIRTEENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE
CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and commend the members, coaches, and staff of the
Rogersville City School girls' basketball team upon winning the TMSAA Class A state

- 2 - 014995

championship and extend to them our best wishes for every continued success in all their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.

- 3 - 014995