HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1046

By Camper

A RESOLUTION to recognize the National Coalition of Women in Ministry on the occasion of its twentieth anniversary.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that we pay tribute to those exemplary organizations that work with purpose and conviction to improve the quality of life in their respective communities; and

WHEREAS, one such esteemed organization is the National Coalition of Women in Ministry (NCWM), Inc., a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that celebrates its twentieth anniversary this year, marking two decades of enhancing communities through effective ministry and leadership; and

WHEREAS, established on March 4, 2004, by Dr. Jada Shipp Meeks, NCWM is a national professional development organization of women that actively impacts communities through teaching, support, encouragement, and networking; and

WHEREAS, NCWM's primary objective is to empower, promote, inspire, and develop women for the work of Jesus Christ; by cultivating women dedicated to serving others, NCWM contributes to the overall improvement of communities; and

WHEREAS, NCWM proudly addresses the critical issue of housing insecurity by providing affordable housing for single mothers; this effort aims to create a better living environment for these families, supporting their journey toward stability and improved quality of life; and

WHEREAS, NCWM's reach extends to ministry leaders in Memphis; Nashville; Chicago, Illinois; Detroit, Michigan; Atlanta, Georgia; Durham, North Carolina; Dallas, Texas; Humble, Texas; and Washington, D.C.; and

WHEREAS, each year, NCWM hosts a leadership convention, providing invaluable professional development to ministry leaders across the country; this convention serves as a

pivotal platform for sharing insights, fostering collaboration, and equipping leaders with the skills needed to make a lasting impact; and

WHEREAS, these collective efforts translate into tangible impacts on local issues within communities, including reducing homelessness, supporting women and children affected by domestic violence, combating human trafficking, and fostering youth mentorship; and

WHEREAS, NCWM has proudly highlighted the community work of over 800 women leaders nationwide at the annual National Esther Award ceremony; in 2013, recognizing the importance of collaborative support, NCWM initiated the Men of Mordecai Award to honor men who actively support women in leadership; and

WHEREAS, the 2024 Esther Award honorees are Karen Brown, State Representative Karen Camper, Judge Carol J. Chumney, Reverend Tracey Coleman, Renita Collins, Dr. Pamela Davis, Pastor Acquanetta Harris, Marquis Healey, Judge Betty Moore, Summer Owens, Dr. Deborah Rivers, Councilwoman Patrice J. Robinson, Minister Eugenia Sims, and Dr. Annie Woods; and

WHEREAS, the 2024 Men of Mordecai Award honorees are Deacon David Dunigan,
Deacon Eddie Jones, Jr., Rico D. Kones, Pastor Gregory Powels, and Elder Steve Shumaker;
and

WHEREAS, it is our privilege to commend this most worthy organization on this special occasion; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we recognize the National Coalition of Women in Ministry on the occasion of its twentieth anniversary, extending our gratitude for the organization's good work and our best wishes for every continued success.

- 2 - 015681

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.

- 3 - 015681