SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1092

By Watson

A RESOLUTION to recognize April 2020 as Occupational Therapy Month.

WHEREAS, occupational therapy is defined as the use of assessment and intervention to develop, recover, or maintain the meaningful activities or occupations of individuals, groups, or communities; and

WHEREAS, the profession of occupational therapy makes valuable contributions in helping people "Live Life to Its Fullest" after an illness or injury; and

WHEREAS, occupational therapy services are available to the citizens of Tennessee through hospitals, home health agencies, schools, clinics, and nursing homes; and

WHEREAS, the health and productivity of our citizens depend upon the effective use of healthcare resources, including the important services of occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants; and

WHEREAS, the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) has designated April 2020 as Occupational Therapy Month; and

WHEREAS, an affiliate of AOTA, the Tennessee Occupational Therapy Association is a professional organization dedicated to representing the interests and concerns of occupational therapy practitioners, students, educators, consumers, and stakeholders across the State; and

WHEREAS, according to Bureau of Labor statistics, there were approximately 2,100 licensed occupational therapists employed in Tennessee as of May 2017; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize the value and the accomplishments of these dedicated healthcare professionals by observing Occupational Therapy Month; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED ELEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we recognize April 2020 as Occupational Therapy Month.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.