<BillNo> <Sponsor>

SENATE RESOLUTION 32

By Haile

A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate the Beech High School cheerleading program for its many accomplishments during the 2018-2019 season.

WHEREAS, this legislative body takes great pleasure in paying tribute to those exemplary sports teams and athletes who have attained the pinnacle of competition, bringing great honor and acclaim to Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, the Beech High School cheerleading program is one such resolute group of young athletes, and during the 2018-2019 season, the program garnered various accolades at both the regional and national levels; and

WHEREAS, during this standout season, the cheerleaders of Beech High School competed in three different divisions, winning a Tennessee Extreme Regional title, two Smoky Mountain Championship titles, and fourth place at the National High School Cheerleading Championship in the Large Game Day Division; and

WHEREAS, though the demands of practice and competition were many, the Beech High School cheerleaders maintained a minimum 2.5 grade point average, with more than half of them achieving a 4.0 grade point average; this exceptional accomplishment resulted in the program receiving team and individual recognition from the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association; and

WHEREAS, in addition to their academic success, the Beech High School cheerleaders partnered and volunteered with The Bridge Ministry throughout the year, helping feed and care for the homeless in Nashville; and

WHEREAS, the Beech High School blue squad, medium varsity division, is made up of star athletes Cortney Barnard, Cassidy Dugger, Brooklyn Givens, Hailee Hester, Tavis Hickey,

Hannah Linn, Ellie Lizar, Halle Johnson, Kayla Neal, Lydia O'Neal, Desteny Thomas, Rachel Treece, Kayla Williams, Hannah Carmack, Tristen Dixon, and Kylie Edwards; and

WHEREAS, the Beech High School white squad, junior varsity non-tumbling division, features the unmatched talents of Elena Cothern, Taylor Dalton, Sarah Ewing, Taylor Farmer, Diana Garcia, Sydnie Piotto, Josie Plucker, Aidan Porter, Aly Smith, Katie Vaughn, Maycee Woods, Kaylee Wynne, and Brooke Donaldson; and

WHEREAS, the cheer teams are guided by the impeccable leadership of Coach Chad Murphy, who coaches the blue squad, and Coach Sarah Murphy, who coaches the white squad; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting that these outstanding young women should be recognized for their accomplishments in cheer competition; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED ELEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, that we honor and congratulate the members of the Beech High School cheerleading program upon their winning season and extend to them our best wishes for continued success in all their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.