SENATE RESOLUTION 145

By McNally

A RESOLUTION opposing the construction of a new coal ash dump at Bull Run.

WHEREAS, the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) is seeking approval from the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation to build a new coal ash dump at Bull Run, even though the utility announced last year it will close its fossil plant there by December 2023; and

WHEREAS, TVA's plans for a new coal ash dump at Bull Run call for a sixty-acre landfill that would hold as much as eleven tons of the waste, a toxic stew of chemicals, heavy metals, and radioactive material produced as a byproduct of burning coal to produce electricity; the dump would be constructed in a residential neighborhood surrounding the plant; and

WHEREAS, coal ash contains a slew of cancer-causing toxins, including radium and uranium, that are dangerous to breathe and can potentially contaminate groundwater and public drinking water sources; and

WHEREAS, the good people of Anderson County are understandably concerned about the potential adverse effects on public health by the proposed coal ash dump and oppose its construction in their community; and

WHEREAS, TVA's assertions that its coal ash is safe are of cold comfort amid widespread concern by the public and elected officials alike that the new Bull Run dump could endanger human health; and

WHEREAS, it is imperative that the citizens of Anderson County have significant input into the location of this potentially dangerous facility in their community; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED ELEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, that in the interest of protecting and preserving

our citizens' health and welfare, we strongly oppose the construction of a new coal ash dump by the Tennessee Valley Authority at Bull Run.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a certified copy of this resolution be prepared and transmitted to the president and chief executive officer and each member of the board of directors of the Tennessee Valley Authority and the presiding officer of the Anderson County Commission.