SENATE RESOLUTION 171

By McNally

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend the Senate employees of the 111th General Assembly.

WHEREAS, we wish to specially recognize our Senate staff members, all of whom work long hours, without complaint and often under trying conditions, in service of this General Assembly; and

WHEREAS, these outstanding public servants perform their essential duties splendidly, not for personal gain or glory, but rather for the satisfaction of helping to make Tennessee an even better place to live; and

WHEREAS, much like the venerable postman of days of yore, neither snow nor rain nor heat nor gloom of demanding Senators stays these faithful employees from the swift completion of their appointed duties, and usually many times over; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Senate would truly be lost without the invaluable services of the following Senate staff members; and

WHEREAS, the diligent employees who serve in Lieutenant Governor Randy McNally's office under the capable leadership of Chief of Staff Rick Nicholson are Executive Assistant to the Lieutenant Governor Debbie Martin, Senior Legislative Advisor Tim Sigler, Executive Administrative Assistant Pam George, and Director of Communications Adam Kleinheider; and

WHEREAS, the members of Senate Leadership staff are Chip McConkey, Deana Guenther, and Kati Coats (Speaker Pro Tempore Ferrell Haile); Luke Gustafson, Ashley Harbin, and Meredith Vitale (Republican Leader, Senator Jack Johnson); Jacob Baggett and Rachel Offutt (Republican Caucus Chair, Senator Ken Yager); Lauren Agee, David Aguilera, and Diane Irwin (Democratic Leader, Senator Jeff Yarbro); Malick Gaye and Claire Patton (Democratic Caucus Chair, Senator Raumesh Akbari); and Republican Press Secretary Darlene Schlicher,

Deputy Republican Press Secretary Molly Gormley, and Democratic Press Secretary Brandon Puttbrese; and

WHEREAS, the Senate Research Analysts are Brandy Foust (Commerce and Labor Committee); Debbie Gazzaway (Transportation and Safety Committee); Chase Johnson (Judiciary Committee); John Kerr (Finance, Ways and Means Committee); Michael Maren (Education Committee); Rhett Pratt (State and Local Government Committee); Jenny Ritchey (Health and Welfare Committee); Jonathan Springer (Government Operations Committee); Callan Wilkerson (Energy, Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee); and Tres Wittum (Finance, Ways and Means Committee); and

WHEREAS, the Senate administrative staff includes Sarah Adair (Senator Richard Briggs); Janet Batchelor (Senator Kerry Roberts and Government Operations Committee); Alice Bigham (Senator Paul Rose); Jessica Bryant (Senator Dawn White); Autumn Cole (Senator Paul Rose); Hannah Crouse (Senator Shane Reeves); Amy Darnall (Senator Jon Lundberg); Austin Deal (Senator Becky Massey and Transportation and Safety Committee); Pat Farmer (Senator Art Swann); Christine Freeland (Senator Bo Watson and Finance, Ways and Means Committee); Shayna Fritz (Senator Paul Bailey and Commerce and Labor Committee); Janita Hendricks (Senator Katrina Robinson); Lenekra Hill (Senator Brenda Gilmore); Vivian Hughbanks (Senator Brian Kelsey); Chase Ingle (Senator Dolores Gresham and Education Committee); Megan Karl (Senator Janice Bowling); Jordan Long (Senator John Stevens); Sue Lusk (Senator Mike Bell and Judiciary Committee); Allison McHenry (Senator Bill Powers); Lynette Morris (Senator Ed Jackson); Ashley Peters (Senator Sara Kyle); Hannah Ramey (Senator Steve Southerland and Energy, Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee); Rita Redmond (Senator Todd Gardenhire); Suzanne Schultz (Senator Frank Niceley); Laken Shattuck (Senator Rusty Crowe and Health and Welfare Committee): David Solon (Senator Steve Dickerson and State and Local Government Committee); Debbie Stephens (Senator Mark Pody); Irene Ward; and Allison Wilson (Senator Joey Hensley); and

WHEREAS, these superlative Senate staffers are essential to the efficient and orderly operation of this General Assembly, and it is fitting that we pause in our deliberations to express

our deep appreciation for the professional services they render so competently and so cheerfully; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED ELEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, that we hereby honor and commend our exemplary Senate employees for the diligent and proficient manner in which they perform their respective duties, their dedication to public service as evidenced by their willingness to work long after normal office hours, and their unwavering loyalty to the members of this General Assembly.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

- 3 - 017539