Bill Text: TX HR112 | 2019-2020 | 86th Legislature | Enrolled

Bill Title: Congratulating the Bishop Dunne High School football team on winning the 2018 TAPPS Division I state championship.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 1-0)

Status: (Passed) 2019-03-08 - Reported enrolled [HR112 Detail]

Download: Texas-2019-HR112-Enrolled.html
  H.R. No. 112
         WHEREAS, The football team of Bishop Dunne High School in
  Dallas reached the pinnacle of success by winning the 2018 Texas
  Association of Private and Parochial Schools Division I state
  championship on December 7 in Waco; and
         WHEREAS, After going undefeated in district play during the
  regular season, the Falcons opened the playoffs with two dominant
  victories, 45-7 over Trinity Christian Academy and 42-0 over
  St. Pius X High School, to advance to the semifinals against Parish
  Episcopal School; in that contest, quarterback Simeon Evans passed
  for two touchdowns and ran for two more while the defense recorded
  six sacks and held the Parish Episcopal running game in check en
  route to a 31-20 triumph that punched the team's ticket to the
  Division I title game; and
         WHEREAS, With the state crown on the line, Bishop Dunne
  matched up against Bishop Lynch High School in a rematch of the 2016
  championship showdown; in a closely contested thriller, the Falcons
  took a 7-0 lead in the second quarter on a touchdown pass from
  Mr. Evans to Andrew Armstrong, but Bishop Lynch rallied to carry a
  9-7 lead into the final minute of the game; with just 42 seconds to
  play, Mr. Evans connected with Mr. Armstrong on another scoring
  strike to recapture the advantage, and the Falcon defense held firm
  on the final Bishop Lynch drive to secure the 13-9 victory and the
  state championship; and
         WHEREAS, In addition to the efforts of Mr. Evans and
  Mr. Armstrong, Bishop Dunne received valuable contributions
  throughout the season from each of the other members of
  the  roster: Logan Wilson, Kendall Paul, Ryan West, Nicholas
  Nakwaasah, Jaden Hullaby, Jabari Khepera, Landon Hullaby, Brennon
  Scott, Nicholas Johnson, Brian Williams, Elijah Yelverton, Joshua
  Emmanuel, Kofi Thompson, Patrick Ugbede, Matthew Yelverton, Peyton
  Culberson, Coby Cavil, John Emmanuel, JaDarrion Herrod, Fred
  Henderson, Jeremiah Bodwin, Pearson Hendrix, Cory Cavil, Kendall
  Newsom, Cameron Wilson, Greg Lane, Raymond Evans, Jason Aaruz,
  Grant Barksdale, Adrian Munoz, Samuel Strong, Gabe Matous, Mykell
  Sutton, Tim Peterson, James Clark, Thomas Gort, Josh Ramos, Chans
  Jones, Gabriel Betancourt, Denim Brown, Kobe Singleton, Elijah
  Moore, Donovan Stiles, Colby Culberson, Kobe Paul, Mekhi Collins,
  Tucker Littleton, and Kevin Washington; and
         WHEREAS, The steady guidance of head coach Michael Johnson
  led the Falcons to an outstanding overall record of 11 wins and 3
  losses, and he was ably assisted by a skilled staff that included
  coaches Walter Johnson, Myron Hawthorne, Delone Williams, Zach
  Coleman, Bobby Watkins, Bryson Lewis, John Johnson, Robert Brodner,
  Chris Walton, Chad Morris, and Rodney Hawkins, as well as head
  athletic trainer Tye Burch-Bowers and video coordinators Stephen
  James, David Johnson, and Ron Johnson; the team also received vital
  support from athletic director Kenneth Davis and principal Mary
  Beth Marchiony; and
         WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the
  culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering
  commitment to excellence, and the members of the Bishop Dunne
  Falcons football team will treasure the memory of this
  accomplishment for many years to come; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate the Bishop Dunne High School
  football team on winning the 2018 TAPPS Division I state
  championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff
  sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.
  Davis of Dallas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 112 was adopted by the House on March
  6, 2019, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House