Bill Text: TX HR358 | 2019-2020 | 86th Legislature | Enrolled

Bill Title: Congratulating Mike A. Myers on his receipt of the Santa Rita Award from The University of Texas System Board of Regents.

Spectrum: Slight Partisan Bill (Democrat 3-1)

Status: (Passed) 2019-03-14 - Reported enrolled [HR358 Detail]

Download: Texas-2019-HR358-Enrolled.html
  H.R. No. 358
         WHEREAS, Mike A. Myers, owner and chair of Myers Financial
  Corporation, was presented with the Santa Rita Award by The
  University of Texas System Board of Regents on December 12, 2018;
         WHEREAS, The highest honor bestowed by the UT Regents, the
  Santa Rita Award is earned by individuals who have demonstrated
  concern for the principles of higher education, as well as deep
  commitment to the furtherance of the purposes and objectives of The
  University of Texas System; and
         WHEREAS, A native of the small town of Olney, Mike Myers
  learned from his parents the value of hard work and the fulfillment
  that can be found in helping others; after first attending Tarleton
  State College in Stephenville, he transferred to UT Austin, where
  he excelled academically while making his first foray into
  entrepreneurship as the owner of a restaurant and catering
  business; he received his bachelor's degree in 1959 and his law
  degree in 1963 before taking his first job in the office of Governor
  John Connally; and
         WHEREAS, Mr. Myers expanded his business interests to
  encompass community banking, real estate development, and country
  club ownership, and today he operates Myers Financial Corporation
  alongside Myers Bancshares, Inc., the holding company of the oldest
  and largest continually owned independent bank in Tarrant County;
  he is also a cofounder and majority partner in The University of
  Texas Golf Club in Austin, which has hosted the UT men's and women's
  golf teams since 2003; and
         WHEREAS, Throughout his life, Mr. Myers has been a faithful
  and dedicated supporter of his alma mater, providing numerous
  endowments for the McCombs School of Business, the Moody College of
  Communication, the Colleges of Education, Liberal Arts, and Natural
  Sciences, the Office of the Provost, and several graduate studies
  programs; he contributed to the expansion and modernization of the
  Darrell K. Royal Texas Memorial Stadium, and he and his wife, Sammye
  Myers, helped establish what is now known as the Mike A. Myers
  Stadium and Soccer Field; he is cofounder of the Foundation for
  Texas Excellence Scholars, and he has further served as president
  of the Longhorn Foundation and as chair of the UT System
  Chancellor's Council; over the years, he has shared his time,
  expertise, and resources to benefit other institutions within the
  UT system, particularly UT Southwestern, which he served with
  distinction as a trustee of the Southwestern Medical Foundation;
         WHEREAS, Since forming his charitable foundation at the age
  of 29, Mr. Myers has made additional contributions in behalf of
  education and other causes, and he played a notable role in the
  creation of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board; in 1990,
  he initiated the Myers-LeCroy Scholars Endowed Scholarship program
  at the Dallas County Community College District Foundation, and he
  was also instrumental in instituting the Rising Star Program at
  DCCCD; moreover, he has donated generously to Parkland Memorial
  Hospital's Simmons Ambulatory Surgical Center and the "I Stand for
  Parkland" campaign, for which a sky bridge was dedicated in his
  honor; and
         WHEREAS, Other organizations that have benefited from his
  volunteer involvement include the Dallas Assembly, the Dallas
  Citizens Council, the Texas Longhorn Education Foundation, and the
  Cotton Bowl Athletic Association; he currently serves as director
  of the Texas Interscholastic League Foundation and as a trustee
  emeritus of the UT Law School Foundation, through which he helped
  create the Kay Bailey Hutchison Chair in Latin American Law; he was
  named the DFW Entrepreneur of the Year in 2017 and was inducted into
  the Texas Business Hall of Fame in 2008; in addition, he has been
  recognized as a Distinguished Alumnus of UT Austin and as a member
  of the McCombs School of Business Hall of Fame, and he received UT's
  coveted Presidential Citation; and
         WHEREAS, Few alumni can claim such a commendable record of
  leadership and service to their alma mater as Mike Myers, and this
  accomplished businessman, philanthropist, and community leader may
  indeed take well-deserved pride in all that he has achieved; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate Mike A. Myers on his receipt of a
  Santa Rita Award from The University of Texas System Board of
  Regents and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and,
  be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Mr. Myers as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.
  E. Johnson of Dallas
  Turner of Tarrant
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 358 was adopted by the House on March
  13, 2019, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House