US HB2986 | 2019-2020 | 116th Congress


Spectrum: Moderate Partisan Bill (Democrat 81-22)
Status: Introduced on May 23 2019 - 25% progression
Action: 2020-08-07 - Placed on the Union Calendar, Calendar No. 379.
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [PDF]


BEST Act Better Energy Storage Technology Act This bill addresses grid-scale energy storage systems. Specifically, the bill requires the Department of Energy (DOE) to establish a research and development program for energy storage systems, components, and materials across multiple program offices of DOE, including analyzing the need for various types of energy storage to improve electric grid resilience and reliability; develop a five-year strategic plan that identifies research, development, demonstration, and commercial application goals for the program; support the standardized testing and validation of energy storage systems under the program through collaboration with one or more National Laboratories; provide technical assistance for commercial application of energy storage technologies to eligible entities; create a competitive grant program for the demonstration of energy storage systems that use either a single system or aggregations of multiple systems; and establish a research, development, and demonstration program of recycling of energy storage systems containing critical minerals.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Professional trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


BEST Act Better Energy Storage Technology Act


Rep. Bill Foster [D-IL]Rep. Sean Casten [D-IL]Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler [R-WA]Rep. Anthony Gonzalez [R-OH]
Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick [R-PA]Rep. Peter Welch [D-VT]Rep. Don Bacon [R-NE]Rep. Raul Grijalva [D-AZ]
Rep. Dan Crenshaw [R-TX]Rep. Joseph Kennedy [D-MA]Rep. Mike Gallagher [R-WI]Rep. Daniel Lipinski [D-IL]
Rep. Steve Stivers [R-OH]Rep. Elizabeth Fletcher [D-TX]Rep. Patrick McHenry [R-NC]Rep. Ed Case [D-HI]
Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA]Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX]Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA]Rep. Abigail Spanberger [D-VA]
Rep. John Katko [R-NY]Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH]Rep. Ron Kind [D-WI]Rep. Mike Quigley [D-IL]
Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA]Rep. TJ Cox [D-CA]Rep. Eleanor Norton [D-DC]Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI]
Rep. James Himes [D-CT]Rep. Debra Haaland [D-NM]Rep. Elaine Luria [D-VA]Rep. John Lewis [D-GA]
Rep. Earl Blumenauer [D-OR]Rep. Rick Larsen [D-WA]Rep. Christopher Smith [R-NJ]Rep. Elise Stefanik [R-NY]
Rep. Anthony Brindisi [D-NY]Rep. Steve Cohen [D-TN]Rep. Gerald Connolly [D-VA]Rep. Andy Kim [D-NJ]
Rep. Bradley Schneider [D-IL]Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH]Rep. David Scott [D-GA]Rep. Josh Harder [D-CA]
Rep. Thomas Suozzi [D-NY]Rep. William Keating [D-MA]Rep. Gregory Meeks [D-NY]Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA]
Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX]Rep. Chellie Pingree [D-ME]Rep. David Price [D-NC]Rep. Nanette Barragan [D-CA]
Rep. Tom Cole [R-OK]Rep. Jeff Fortenberry [R-NE]Rep. Dan Meuser [R-PA]Rep. Ben McAdams [D-UT]
Rep. Rebecca Sherrill [D-NJ]Rep. Pete Olson [R-TX]Rep. Peter DeFazio [D-OR]Rep. Veronica Escobar [D-TX]
Rep. Bryan Steil [R-WI]Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL]Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA]Rep. David Cicilline [D-RI]
Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY]Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA]Rep. Mark Pocan [D-WI]Rep. Charlie Crist [D-FL]
Rep. David Joyce [R-OH]Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA]Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA]Rep. Jim Cooper [D-TN]
Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX]Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers [R-WA]Rep. Dean Phillips [D-MN]Rep. Michael San Nicolas [D-GU]
Rep. Suzanne Bonamici [D-OR]Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA]Rep. Linda Sanchez [D-CA]Rep. Max Rose [D-NY]
Rep. Bonnie Coleman [D-NJ]Rep. Jared Golden [D-ME]Rep. Christopher Pappas [D-NH]Rep. James Langevin [D-RI]
Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ]Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA]Rep. Chrissy Houlahan [D-PA]Rep. Michael Doyle [D-PA]
Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA]Rep. Denny Heck [D-WA]Rep. Jahana Hayes [D-CT]Rep. Mark Amodei [R-NV]
Rep. Pramila Jayapal [D-WA]Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA]Rep. Ben Lujan [D-NM]Rep. Steven Horsford [D-NV]
Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA]Rep. John Curtis [R-UT]Rep. Dina Titus [D-NV]Rep. David Trone [D-MD]
Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA]Rep. Angela Craig [D-MN]Rep. Haley Stevens [D-MI]


2020-08-07HousePlaced on the Union Calendar, Calendar No. 379.
2020-08-07HouseReported (Amended) by the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology. H. Rept. 116-472.
2020-02-12HouseOrdered to be Reported (Amended) by Voice Vote.
2020-02-12HouseCommittee Consideration and Mark-up Session Held.
2019-12-19HouseForwarded by Subcommittee to Full Committee (Amended) by Voice Vote .
2019-12-19HouseSubcommittee Consideration and Mark-up Session Held.
2019-05-23HouseReferred to the Subcommittee on Energy.
2019-05-23HouseReferred to the House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology.
2019-05-23HouseIntroduced in House

Same As/Similar To

SB1602 (Same As) 2019-10-22 - Placed on Senate Legislative Calendar under General Orders. Calendar No. 255.
HB7516 (Related) 2020-07-10 - Referred to the Subcommittee on Coast Guard and Maritime Transportation.


US Congress State Sources

Bill Comments