US HB587 | 2019-2020 | 116th Congress


Spectrum: Bipartisan Bill
Status: Introduced on January 16 2019 - 25% progression
Action: 2019-01-16 - Referred to the House Committee on Financial Services.
Pending: House Financial Services Committee
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [PDF]


To posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal, collectively, to Glen Doherty, Tyrone Woods, J. Christopher Stevens, and Sean Smith, in recognition of their contributions to the Nation. This bill directs the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President pro tempore of the Senate to arrange for the posthumous award of a Congressional Gold Medal to commemorate Glen Doherty, Tyrone Woods, J. Christopher Stevens, and Sean Smith, four Americans killed in the September 11, 2012, attack on the U.S. consulate in Benghazi, Libya. (Stevens was the U.S. Ambassador to Libya at the time, Smith was an officer in the Foreign Service, and Doherty and Woods were both government contractors and former Navy SEALs.) After the medal has been awarded, it shall be given to the Central Intelligence Agency Museum.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Professional trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


To posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal, collectively, to Glen Doherty, Tyrone Woods, J. Christopher Stevens, and Sean Smith, in recognition of their contributions to the Nation.


Rep. Stephen Lynch [D-MA]Rep. Brian Mast [R-FL]Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA]Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA]
Rep. Guy Reschenthaler [R-PA]Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA]Rep. Paul Gosar [R-AZ]Rep. Gerald Connolly [D-VA]
Rep. Conor Lamb [D-PA]Rep. Susan Brooks [R-IN]Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX]Rep. Mike Kelly [R-PA]
Rep. Dwight Evans [D-PA]Rep. C.A. Ruppersberger [D-MD]Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA]Rep. Henry Johnson [D-GA]
Rep. Bill Posey [R-FL]Rep. Brian Higgins [D-NY]Rep. Daniel Lipinski [D-IL]Rep. Mike Bost [R-IL]
Rep. Eleanor Norton [D-DC]Rep. Thomas Suozzi [D-NY]Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI]Rep. Elise Stefanik [R-NY]
Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL]Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA]Rep. Alexander Mooney [R-WV]Rep. Steve Chabot [R-OH]
Rep. Andy Biggs [R-AZ]Rep. Barry Loudermilk [R-GA]Rep. Jack Bergman [R-MI]Rep. Tom Rice [R-SC]
Rep. Richard Neal [D-MA]Rep. Frederica Wilson [D-FL]Rep. Walter Jones [R-NC]Rep. Austin Scott [R-GA]
Rep. Doug Lamborn [R-CO]Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA]Rep. Lee Zeldin [R-NY]Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX]
Rep. Greg Gianforte [R-MT]Rep. Jody Arrington [R-TX]Rep. George Holding [R-NC]Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA]
Rep. John Moolenaar [R-MI]Rep. David Joyce [R-OH]Rep. John Curtis [R-UT]Rep. Gus Bilirakis [R-FL]
Rep. Robert Scott [D-VA]Rep. Roger Marshall [R-KS]Rep. Ralph Norman [R-SC]Rep. Bobby Rush [D-IL]
Rep. Scott Perry [R-PA]Rep. Jim Cooper [D-TN]Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart [R-FL]Rep. Joe Wilson [R-SC]
Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH]Rep. David McKinley [R-WV]Rep. David Cicilline [D-RI]Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA]
Rep. Steve Cohen [D-TN]Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA]Rep. Grace Meng [D-NY]Rep. Chris Collins [R-NY]
Rep. Bill Johnson [R-OH]Rep. Katherine Clark [D-MA]Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA]Rep. Tim Ryan [D-OH]
Rep. Donald Payne [D-NJ]Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA]Rep. Charles Fleischmann [R-TN]Rep. Michael Cloud [R-TX]
Rep. Daniel Webster [R-FL]Rep. Robin Kelly [D-IL]Rep. Suzanne Bonamici [D-OR]Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA]
Rep. Betty McCollum [D-MN]Rep. Tony Cardenas [D-CA]Rep. James McGovern [D-MA]Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY]
Rep. Troy Balderson [R-OH]Rep. John Rutherford [R-FL]Rep. Tom Cole [R-OK]Rep. Vicky Hartzler [R-MO]
Rep. Debbie Lesko [D-AZ]Rep. Jackie Walorski [R-IN]Rep. Bruce Westerman [R-AR]Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA]
Rep. Carolyn Maloney [D-NY]Rep. James Sensenbrenner [R-WI]Rep. Earl Carter [R-GA]Rep. Alcee Hastings [D-FL]
Rep. Brad Wenstrup [R-OH]Rep. Raul Grijalva [D-AZ]Rep. Michael Burgess [R-TX]Rep. French Hill [R-AR]
Rep. Joseph Kennedy [D-MA]Rep. Paul Mitchell [R-MI]Rep. David Kustoff [R-TN]Rep. Frank Pallone [D-NJ]
Rep. Garland Barr [R-KY]Rep. Bradley Byrne [R-AL]Rep. Adrian Smith [R-NE]Rep. Mike Gallagher [R-WI]
Rep. Glenn Grothman [R-WI]Rep. Albio Sires [D-NJ]Rep. David Roe [R-TN]Rep. Bob Gibbs [R-OH]
Rep. Ben McAdams [D-UT]Rep. Garret Graves [R-LA]Rep. Kurt Schrader [D-OR]Rep. Robert Latta [R-OH]
Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA]Rep. Bennie Thompson [D-MS]Rep. Richard Hudson [R-NC]Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA]
Rep. Mark Meadows [R-NC]Rep. Gregory Meeks [D-NY]Rep. Susan Wild [D-PA]Rep. Thomas Massie [R-KY]
Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA]Rep. Mark Green [R-TN]Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi [D-IL]Rep. Kenny Marchant [R-TX]
Rep. Martha Roby [R-AL]Rep. Rob Bishop [R-UT]Rep. Chris Stewart [R-UT]Rep. Vicente Gonzalez [D-TX]
Rep. Tim Walberg [R-MI]Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers [R-WA]Rep. Greg Steube [R-FL]Rep. Jamie Raskin [D-MD]
Rep. Suzanne Lee [D-NV]Rep. Jim Jordan [R-OH]Rep. Paul Tonko [D-NY]Rep. Scott DesJarlais [R-TN]
Rep. Adriano Espaillat [D-NY]Rep. Tom Emmer [R-MN]Rep. Glenn Thompson [R-PA]Rep. Bill Foster [D-IL]
Rep. Kevin Hern [R-OK]Rep. Trent Kelly [R-MS]Rep. David Loebsack [D-IA]Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D-AZ]
Rep. Pete Stauber [R-MN]Rep. Jason Crow [D-CO]Rep. Matt Gaetz [R-FL]Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee [D-TX]
Rep. Lloyd Smucker [R-PA]Rep. Jesus Garcia [D-IL]Rep. Sam Graves [R-MO]Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA]
Rep. Dan Crenshaw [R-TX]Rep. Ted Budd [R-NC]Rep. Elijah Cummings [D-MD]Rep. Abigail Spanberger [D-VA]
Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX]Rep. Ed Perlmutter [D-CO]Rep. Louie Gohmert [R-TX]Rep. Bryan Steil [R-WI]
Rep. Peter Welch [D-VT]Rep. Daniel Kildee [D-MI]Rep. Suzan DelBene [D-WA]Rep. Eric Crawford [R-AR]
Rep. Derek Kilmer [D-WA]Rep. Michael Turner [R-OH]Rep. Angela Craig [D-MN]Rep. James Baird [R-IN]
Rep. Tom O'Halleran [D-AZ]Rep. Terri Sewell [D-AL]Rep. Collin Peterson [D-MN]Rep. Gregory Pence [R-IN]
Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL]


2019-01-16HouseReferred to the House Committee on Financial Services.
2019-01-16HouseIntroduced in House

Same As/Similar To

SB2054 (Same As) 2019-07-08 - Read twice and referred to the Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs.


US Congress State Sources

Bill Comments