US HB6697 | 2019-2020 | 116th Congress


Spectrum: Slight Partisan Bill (Democrat 87-40)
Status: Introduced on May 5 2020 - 25% progression
Action: 2020-05-05 - Referred to the House Committee on Small Business.
Pending: House Small Business Committee
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [PDF]


Local Chamber, Tourism, and 501(c)(6) Protection Act of 2020 This bill modifies the Paycheck Protection Program implemented by the Small Business Administration in response to COVID-19 (i.e., coronavirus disease 2019) to include certain entities and exclude certain individuals. Specifically, the bill expands the program to encompass organizations with 300 or fewer employees that (1) operate under section 501(c)(6) of the Internal Revenue Code (other than a professional football league), or (2) are a destination marketing organization engaged in promoting communities and facilities to businesses and leisure travelers. The bill also narrows the definition of payroll costs under the program to exclude any compensation of an employee who is a registered lobbyist from the calculation for loan amounts or for allowable uses of funds provided under the program.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Professional trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


Local Chamber, Tourism, and 501(c)(6) Protection Act of 2020


Rep. Christopher Pappas [D-NH]Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick [R-PA]Rep. Gil Cisneros [D-CA]Rep. Greg Steube [R-FL]
Rep. John Rutherford [R-FL]Rep. Anthony Brown [D-MD]Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH]Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA]
Rep. Joe Courtney [D-CT]Rep. Eleanor Norton [D-DC]Rep. Dan Meuser [R-PA]Rep. Joseph Neguse [D-CO]
Rep. Derek Kilmer [D-WA]Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA]Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA]Rep. Tom Malinowski [D-NJ]
Rep. TJ Cox [D-CA]Rep. Henry Cuellar [D-TX]Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D-AZ]Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL]
Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ]Rep. Dina Titus [D-NV]Rep. David Trone [D-MD]Rep. Tom O'Halleran [D-AZ]
Rep. Harley Rouda [D-CA]Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA]Rep. Vicente Gonzalez [D-TX]Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA]
Rep. Greg Gianforte [R-MT]Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA]Rep. Kurt Schrader [D-OR]Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA]
Rep. Charlie Crist [D-FL]Rep. Suzanne Bonamici [D-OR]Rep. Haley Stevens [D-MI]Rep. Ed Case [D-HI]
Rep. Lois Frankel [D-FL]Rep. David Loebsack [D-IA]Rep. Peter Welch [D-VT]Rep. Al Lawson [D-FL]
Rep. Elise Stefanik [R-NY]Rep. Susan Wild [D-PA]Rep. James McGovern [D-MA]Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA]
Rep. Joe Cunningham [D-SC]Rep. Sean Casten [D-IL]Rep. Brian Higgins [D-NY]Rep. Dwight Evans [D-PA]
Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH]Rep. Max Rose [D-NY]Rep. Colin Allred [D-TX]Rep. Bradley Byrne [R-AL]
Rep. Steven Horsford [D-NV]Rep. Lee Zeldin [R-NY]Rep. Nicholas Taylor [R-TX]Rep. Elissa Slotkin [D-MI]
Rep. Neal Dunn [R-FL]Rep. Peter King [R-NY]Rep. Andre Carson [D-IN]Rep. Andy Levin [D-MI]
Rep. James Hagedorn [R-MN]Rep. Ron Kind [D-WI]Rep. Elizabeth Fletcher [D-TX]Rep. Tony Cardenas [D-CA]
Rep. Angela Craig [D-MN]Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL]Rep. Greg Walden [R-OR]Rep. David McKinley [R-WV]
Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX]Rep. Suzan DelBene [D-WA]Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA]Rep. Earl Blumenauer [D-OR]
Rep. Tom Rice [R-SC]Rep. David Cicilline [D-RI]Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI]Rep. Bruce Westerman [R-AR]
Rep. Kathy Castor [D-FL]Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI]Rep. Adriano Espaillat [D-NY]Rep. Thomas Suozzi [D-NY]
Rep. Terri Sewell [D-AL]Rep. Josh Harder [D-CA]Rep. Don Beyer [D-VA]Rep. Joseph Kennedy [D-MA]
Rep. Chip Roy [R-TX]Rep. Joe Wilson [R-SC]Rep. Sharice Davids [D-KS]Rep. Denver Riggleman [R-VA]
Rep. Mike Quigley [D-IL]Rep. Garland Barr [R-KY]Rep. Dean Phillips [D-MN]Rep. Steven Palazzo [R-MS]
Rep. James Langevin [D-RI]Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX]Rep. Lori Trahan [D-MA]Rep. Steve Watkins [R-KS]
Rep. Cheri Bustos [D-IL]Rep. Michael San Nicolas [D-GU]Rep. Anthony Brindisi [D-NY]Rep. Peter DeFazio [D-OR]
Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell [D-FL]Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer [R-MO]Rep. Barry Loudermilk [R-GA]Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY]
Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX]Rep. Don Bacon [R-NE]Rep. Guy Reschenthaler [R-PA]Rep. Pete Stauber [R-MN]
Rep. Ron Wright [R-TX]Rep. Markwayne Mullin [R-OK]Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers [R-WA]Rep. Bill Foster [D-IL]
Rep. Peter Visclosky [D-IN]Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA]Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA]Rep. Dusty Johnson [R-SD]
Rep. Tom Emmer [R-MN]Rep. Ross Spano [R-FL]Rep. Carolyn Maloney [D-NY]Rep. Tom Reed [R-NY]
Rep. Andy Kim [D-NJ]Rep. Conor Lamb [D-PA]Rep. Trent Kelly [R-MS]Rep. Brian Mast [R-FL]
Rep. Theodore Deutch [D-FL]Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA]Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA]


2020-05-05HouseReferred to the House Committee on Small Business.
2020-05-05HouseIntroduced in House


US Congress State Sources

Bill Comments