US HB7071 | 2019-2020 | 116th Congress


Spectrum: Bipartisan Bill
Status: Introduced on June 1 2020 - 25% progression
Action: 2020-06-01 - Referred to the House Committee on Energy and Commerce.
Pending: House Energy And Commerce Committee
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [PDF]


Accelerating Access to Critical Therapies for ALS Act This bill establishes a grant program, as well as a new center within the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), to facilitate access to investigational therapies for neurodegenerative diseases such as amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (i.e., ALS, also known as Lou Gehrig's disease, a progressive and fatal disease). Specifically, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) must award grants for the provision of investigational drugs for ALS and other rapidly progressing neurodegenerative diseases through an expanded access (i.e., compassionate use) program. HHS may award these grants to (1) a small business that is the sponsor of an investigational new drug application, or (2) a participating clinical trial site for such a sponsor. Additionally, HHS must establish within the FDA a Center of Excellence for Neurodegenerative Diseases. The center shall have duties and authorities similar to those of the FDA's Oncology Center of Excellence, which helps expedite the development of medical products and assists providers in requesting access to investigational drugs.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Professional trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


Accelerating Access to Critical Therapies for ALS Act


Rep. Jeff Fortenberry [R-NE]Rep. Mike Quigley [D-IL]Rep. Clay Higgins [R-LA]Rep. David Schweikert [R-AZ]
Rep. Harley Rouda [D-CA]Rep. Jason Crow [D-CO]Rep. Terri Sewell [D-AL]Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick [R-PA]
Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA]Rep. French Hill [R-AR]Rep. Joseph Neguse [D-CO]Rep. Eric Crawford [R-AR]
Rep. Andy Harris [R-MD]Rep. Steve Womack [R-AR]Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA]Rep. Tom Cole [R-OK]
Rep. Mo Brooks [R-AL]Rep. Charles Fleischmann [R-TN]Rep. Albio Sires [D-NJ]Rep. Steve King [R-IA]
Rep. Jeff Van Drew [D-NJ]Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH]Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL]Rep. Jared Golden [D-ME]
Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon [D-PA]Rep. Steve Stivers [R-OH]Rep. Bruce Westerman [R-AR]Rep. Greg Stanton [D-AZ]
Rep. George Holding [R-NC]Rep. William Timmons [R-SC]Rep. John Moolenaar [R-MI]Rep. Peter King [R-NY]
Rep. C.A. Ruppersberger [D-MD]Rep. Gregory Meeks [D-NY]Rep. Michael Turner [R-OH]Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA]
Rep. Tom O'Halleran [D-AZ]Rep. Denver Riggleman [R-VA]Rep. Scott DesJarlais [R-TN]Rep. James Langevin [D-RI]
Rep. Elaine Luria [D-VA]Rep. Al Green [D-TX]Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL]Rep. Collin Peterson [D-MN]
Rep. Gil Cisneros [D-CA]Rep. John Katko [R-NY]Rep. Rashida Tlaib [D-MI]Rep. Donald Payne [D-NJ]
Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA]Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX]Rep. Angela Craig [D-MN]Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA]
Rep. Jim Cooper [D-TN]Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA]Rep. David Scott [D-GA]Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA]
Rep. Joe Cunningham [D-SC]Rep. Betty McCollum [D-MN]Rep. Jason Smith [R-MO]Rep. Carol Miller [R-WV]
Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers [R-WA]Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA]Rep. Ted Yoho [R-FL]Rep. David McKinley [R-WV]
Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX]Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA]Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA]Rep. Conor Lamb [D-PA]
Rep. Michael Waltz [R-FL]Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA]Rep. Vicente Gonzalez [D-TX]Rep. Elise Stefanik [R-NY]
Rep. Christopher Pappas [D-NH]Rep. Cindy Axne [D-IA]Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA]Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA]
Rep. Peter DeFazio [D-OR]Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA]Rep. Don Bacon [R-NE]Rep. Trent Kelly [R-MS]
Rep. David Cicilline [D-RI]Rep. Brad Wenstrup [R-OH]Rep. Al Lawson [D-FL]Rep. Greg Gianforte [R-MT]
Rep. Bradley Schneider [D-IL]Rep. Lacy Clay [D-MO]Rep. Jamie Raskin [D-MD]Rep. Chellie Pingree [D-ME]
Rep. Lois Frankel [D-FL]Rep. Madeleine Dean [D-PA]Rep. Neal Dunn [R-FL]Rep. Val Demings [D-FL]
Rep. Tom Malinowski [D-NJ]Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY]Rep. Derek Kilmer [D-WA]Rep. Mark Amodei [R-NV]
Rep. Grace Meng [D-NY]Rep. Kevin Hern [R-OK]Rep. Colin Allred [D-TX]Rep. Abigail Spanberger [D-VA]
Rep. Tim Ryan [D-OH]Rep. Barry Loudermilk [R-GA]Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA]Rep. Kendra Horn [D-OK]
Rep. Robert Wittman [R-VA]Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart [R-FL]Rep. Markwayne Mullin [R-OK]Rep. Susan Wild [D-PA]
Rep. Daniel Kildee [D-MI]Rep. John Rutherford [R-FL]Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA]Rep. Peter Welch [D-VT]
Rep. Debra Haaland [D-NM]Rep. Andre Carson [D-IN]Rep. Lucy McBath [D-GA]Rep. Frank Lucas [R-OK]
Rep. Nydia Velazquez [D-NY]Rep. Robin Kelly [D-IL]Rep. Andy Biggs [R-AZ]Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA]
Rep. Paul Tonko [D-NY]


2020-06-01HouseReferred to the House Committee on Energy and Commerce.
2020-06-01HouseIntroduced in House


US Congress State Sources

Bill Comments