US HR988 | 2019-2020 | 116th Congress


Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 178-0)
Status: Introduced on June 1 2020 - 25% progression
Action: 2020-06-01 - Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
Pending: House Judiciary Committee
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [PDF]


Condemning all acts of police brutality, racial profiling, and the use of excessive and militarized force throughout the country. This resolution condemns acts of brutality, racial profiling, and the use of excessive force by law enforcement officers. It also calls for the end of militarized policing practices. The resolution supports strengthening efforts to promote accountability for individual law enforcement officers and police departments. Finally, it calls for the adoption of sound and unbiased law enforcement policies at all levels of government.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Professional trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


Condemning all acts of police brutality, racial profiling, and the use of excessive and militarized force throughout the country.


Rep. Ayanna Pressley [D-MA]Rep. Suzanne Bonamici [D-OR]Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX]Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA]
Rep. Yvette Clarke [D-NY]Rep. James Clyburn [D-SC]Rep. Gerald Connolly [D-VA]Rep. TJ Cox [D-CA]
Rep. Veronica Escobar [D-TX]Rep. Adriano Espaillat [D-NY]Rep. Marcia Fudge [D-OH]Rep. Jesus Garcia [D-IL]
Rep. Raul Grijalva [D-AZ]Rep. Alcee Hastings [D-FL]Rep. Jahana Hayes [D-CT]Rep. Steven Horsford [D-NV]
Rep. Pramila Jayapal [D-WA]Rep. Hakeem Jeffries [D-NY]Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX]Rep. Robin Kelly [D-IL]
Rep. Joseph Kennedy [D-MA]Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA]Rep. Betty McCollum [D-MN]Rep. James McGovern [D-MA]
Rep. Eleanor Norton [D-DC]Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez [D-NY]Rep. Mark Pocan [D-WI]Rep. Jamie Raskin [D-MD]
Rep. Cedric Richmond [D-LA]Rep. Janice Schakowsky [D-IL]Rep. Rashida Tlaib [D-MI]Rep. Lori Trahan [D-MA]
Rep. Nydia Velazquez [D-NY]Rep. Bonnie Coleman [D-NJ]Rep. Michael Doyle [D-PA]Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA]
Rep. Jerrold Nadler [D-NY]Rep. Henry Johnson [D-GA]Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA]Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz [D-FL]
Rep. Ilhan Omar [D-MN]Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA]Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA]Rep. Alma Adams [D-NC]
Rep. Chellie Pingree [D-ME]Rep. G. Butterfield [D-NC]Rep. Lauren Underwood [D-IL]Rep. Gregory Meeks [D-NY]
Rep. Grace Meng [D-NY]Rep. Carolyn Maloney [D-NY]Rep. Peter Welch [D-VT]Rep. Katherine Clark [D-MA]
Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH]Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ]Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA]Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon [D-PA]
Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA]Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA]Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA]Rep. David Cicilline [D-RI]
Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA]Rep. Donald Payne [D-NJ]Rep. Lisa Rochester [D-DE]Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA]
Rep. Earl Blumenauer [D-OR]Rep. Tim Ryan [D-OH]Rep. Peter DeFazio [D-OR]Rep. Jose Serrano [D-NY]
Rep. Frederica Wilson [D-FL]Rep. Eliot Engel [D-NY]Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL]Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX]
Rep. Lacy Clay [D-MO]Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA]Rep. Nanette Barragan [D-CA]Rep. John Sarbanes [D-MD]
Rep. Katie Porter [D-CA]Rep. David Price [D-NC]Rep. Tony Cardenas [D-CA]Rep. Sanford Bishop [D-GA]
Rep. Linda Sanchez [D-CA]Rep. Bobby Rush [D-IL]Rep. Jim Cooper [D-TN]Rep. Steve Cohen [D-TN]
Rep. Donna Shalala [D-FL]Rep. David Scott [D-GA]Rep. Marcy Kaptur [D-OH]Rep. Debra Haaland [D-NM]
Rep. Dwight Evans [D-PA]Rep. Madeleine Dean [D-PA]Rep. Rosa DeLauro [D-CT]Rep. Adam Smith [D-WA]
Rep. Danny Davis [D-IL]Rep. Angela Craig [D-MN]Rep. Daniel Kildee [D-MI]Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA]
Rep. Suzan DelBene [D-WA]Rep. John Larson [D-CT]Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA]Rep. Mike Quigley [D-IL]
Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA]Rep. Paul Tonko [D-NY]Rep. Joseph Neguse [D-CO]Rep. Don Beyer [D-VA]
Rep. Al Green [D-TX]Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA]Rep. Sylvia Garcia [D-TX]Rep. Bill Foster [D-IL]
Rep. Anthony Brown [D-MD]Rep. Stephen Lynch [D-MA]Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY]Rep. William Keating [D-MA]
Rep. Andy Levin [D-MI]Rep. Albio Sires [D-NJ]Rep. Richard Neal [D-MA]Rep. John Yarmuth [D-KY]
Rep. Frank Pallone [D-NJ]Rep. Thomas Suozzi [D-NY]Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA]Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA]
Rep. Dean Phillips [D-MN]Rep. Donald McEachin [D-VA]Rep. Bradley Schneider [D-IL]Rep. Derek Kilmer [D-WA]
Rep. Brendan Boyle [D-PA]Rep. Diana DeGette [D-CO]Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA]Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI]
Rep. C.A. Ruppersberger [D-MD]Rep. Sean Casten [D-IL]Rep. Ed Perlmutter [D-CO]Rep. Dina Titus [D-NV]
Rep. Cheri Bustos [D-IL]Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA]Rep. Haley Stevens [D-MI]Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH]
Rep. Charlie Crist [D-FL]Rep. Joseph Morelle [D-NY]Rep. James Himes [D-CT]Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D-AZ]
Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA]Rep. John Lewis [D-GA]Rep. Cindy Axne [D-IA]Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA]
Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA]Rep. Harley Rouda [D-CA]Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA]Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA]
Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY]Rep. Ben Lujan [D-NM]Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA]Rep. Stacey Plaskett [D-VI]
Rep. Andre Carson [D-IN]Rep. Lois Frankel [D-FL]Rep. Joe Courtney [D-CT]Rep. Bennie Thompson [D-MS]
Rep. Robert Scott [D-VA]Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA]Rep. Kathy Castor [D-FL]Rep. Nita Lowey [D-NY]
Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA]Rep. Theodore Deutch [D-FL]Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI]Rep. Rick Larsen [D-WA]
Rep. James Langevin [D-RI]Rep. Christopher Pappas [D-NH]Rep. Gil Cisneros [D-CA]Rep. Chrissy Houlahan [D-PA]
Rep. Kweisi Mfume [D-MD]Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi [D-IL]Rep. Peter Visclosky [D-IN]Rep. Jason Crow [D-CO]
Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA]Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA]Rep. Suzanne Lee [D-NV]Rep. Tulsi Gabbard [D-HI]
Rep. Ron Kind [D-WI]Rep. Matthew Cartwright [D-PA]


2020-06-01HouseReferred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
2020-06-01HouseIntroduced in House


US Congress State Sources

Bill Comments