Bill Text: VA SJR462 | 2019 | Regular Session | Enrolled

Bill Title: Commending Lieutenant James Layne.

Spectrum: Bipartisan Bill

Status: (Passed) 2019-02-23 - Bill text as passed Senate and House (SJ462ER) [SJR462 Detail]

Download: Virginia-2019-SJR462-Enrolled.html

Commending Lieutenant James Layne.


Agreed to by the Senate, February 21, 2019
Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 22, 2019


WHEREAS, Lieutenant James Layne, a dedicated law-enforcement officer, retired as a member of the Division of Capitol Police on January 1, 2019, after more than 33 years of service; and

WHEREAS, a native of Essex County, James Layne earned degrees in police science and criminal justice from Rappahannock Community College and Strayer University; and

WHEREAS, James Layne joined the Division of Capitol Police, the oldest police department in the nation, in 1985; he served as a patrol officer, shift sergeant, lieutenant-watch commander, and, most recently, as a lieutenant overseeing special operations; and

WHEREAS, James Layne continued his education at the Federal Bureau of Investigation National Academy, the Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police Foundation Professional Executive Leadership School at the University of Richmond, the Institute for Leadership in Changing Times at Virginia Tech, the Public Safety Institute of Virginia Commonwealth University L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs, and the National Honor Guard Academy; and

WHEREAS, James Layne concurrently served his country as a member of the Virginia Army National Guard and was awarded the Military Achievement Medal for outstanding leadership in 1990; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend Lieutenant James Layne on the occasion of his retirement as a member of the Division of Capitol Police; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Lieutenant James Layne as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for his distinguished service to the Commonwealth and the United States.