Bill Text: NJ S3717 | 2018-2019 | Regular Session | Introduced


Bill Title: Eliminates shellfish license fee for veterans and active duty service members.

Spectrum: Slight Partisan Bill (Democrat 3-1)

Status: (Introduced) 2019-05-16 - Introduced in the Senate, Referred to Senate Environment and Energy Committee [S3717 Detail]

Download: New_Jersey-2018-S3717-Introduced.html

SENATE, No. 3717

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

218th LEGISLATURE

 

INTRODUCED MAY 16, 2019

 


 

Sponsored by:

Senator  BOB ANDRZEJCZAK

District 1 (Atlantic, Cape May and Cumberland)

 

 

 

 

SYNOPSIS

     Eliminates shellfish license fee for veterans and active duty service members.

 

CURRENT VERSION OF TEXT

     As introduced.

  


An Act concerning shellfish licenses and amending R.S.50:2-3.

 

     Be It Enacted by the Senate and General Assembly of the State of New Jersey:

 

     1.    R.S.50:2-3 is amended to read as follows:

     50:2-3.  The license fee shall be fixed by the commissioner, with the approval of the council, at not less than $10 or more than $20 for a resident's recreational shellfish license, at not less than $20 or more than $40 for a nonresident's recreational shellfish license, at not less than $50 or more than $100 for a resident's commercial shellfish license, and at not less than $250 or more than $500 for a nonresident's commercial shellfish license.  No fee shall be charged for a recreational shellfish license to a person who is 62 or more years of age, or to an honorably discharged veteran or active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States, provided the person is a resident of this State.  A juvenile recreational shellfish license shall be available for $2 for resident or nonresident persons under 14 years of age.

(cf:  P.L.2007, c.338, s.26)

     2.    This act shall take effect immediately.

 

STATEMENT

 

     This bill exempts honorably discharged veterans and active duty members of the U.S. military from the resident's recreational shellfish license fee.  Currently, New Jersey residents under the age of 62 are required to pay a $10 license fee for the license, which allows them to harvest shellfish such as hard and soft clams, surf clams, oysters, bay scallops, and mussels during the summer months.  Licensees may harvest up to 150 shellfish per day for non-commercial use.

feedback