US HB1296 | 2019-2020 | 116th Congress


Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 191-1)
Status: Introduced on February 15 2019 - 25% progression
Action: 2019-02-15 - Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
Pending: House Judiciary Committee
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [PDF]


Assault Weapons Ban of 2019 This bill makes it a crime to knowingly import, sell, manufacture, transfer, or possess a semiautomatic assault weapon (SAW) or large capacity ammunition feeding device (LCAFD). The prohibition does not apply to a firearm that is (1) manually operated by bolt, pump, lever, or slide action; (2) permanently inoperable; (3) an antique; or (4) a rifle or shotgun specifically identified by make and model. The bill also exempts from the prohibition the following, with respect to a SAW or LCAFD: importation, sale, manufacture, transfer, or possession related to certain law enforcement efforts, or authorized tests or experiments; importation, sale, transfer, or possession related to securing nuclear materials; and possession by a retired law enforcement officer. The bill permits continued possession, sale, or transfer of a grandfathered SAW, which must be securely stored. A licensed gun dealer must conduct a background check prior to the sale or transfer of a grandfathered SAW between private parties. The bill permits continued possession of, but prohibits sale or transfer of, a grandfathered LCAFD. Newly manufactured LCAFDs must display serial number identification. Newly manufactured SAWs and LCAFDs must display the date of manufacture. The bill requires law enforcement agencies to be notified when a prohibited person attempts to purchase a grandfathered SAW. It also allows a state or local government to use Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program funds to compensate individuals who surrender a SAW or LCAFD under a buy-back program.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Professional trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


Assault Weapons Ban of 2019


Rep. David Cicilline [D-RI]Rep. Alma Adams [D-NC]Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA]Rep. Nanette Barragan [D-CA]
Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA]Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH]Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA]Rep. Don Beyer [D-VA]
Rep. Earl Blumenauer [D-OR]Rep. Lisa Rochester [D-DE]Rep. Suzanne Bonamici [D-OR]Rep. Brendan Boyle [D-PA]
Rep. Anthony Brown [D-MD]Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA]Rep. G. Butterfield [D-NC]Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA]
Rep. Tony Cardenas [D-CA]Rep. Andre Carson [D-IN]Rep. Matthew Cartwright [D-PA]Rep. Sean Casten [D-IL]
Rep. Kathy Castor [D-FL]Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA]Rep. Gil Cisneros [D-CA]Rep. Katherine Clark [D-MA]
Rep. Yvette Clarke [D-NY]Rep. Lacy Clay [D-MO]Rep. Steve Cohen [D-TN]Rep. Gerald Connolly [D-VA]
Rep. Jim Cooper [D-TN]Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA]Rep. Joe Courtney [D-CT]Rep. Angela Craig [D-MN]
Rep. Charlie Crist [D-FL]Rep. Jason Crow [D-CO]Rep. Elijah Cummings [D-MD]Rep. Danny Davis [D-IL]
Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA]Rep. Madeleine Dean [D-PA]Rep. Diana DeGette [D-CO]Rep. Rosa DeLauro [D-CT]
Rep. Suzan DelBene [D-WA]Rep. Val Demings [D-FL]Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA]Rep. Theodore Deutch [D-FL]
Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI]Rep. Lloyd Doggett [D-TX]Rep. Michael Doyle [D-PA]Rep. Veronica Escobar [D-TX]
Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA]Rep. Eliot Engel [D-NY]Rep. Lois Frankel [D-FL]Rep. Bill Foster [D-IL]
Rep. Marcia Fudge [D-OH]Rep. Tulsi Gabbard [D-HI]Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ]Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA]
Rep. Jesus Garcia [D-IL]Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA]Rep. Al Green [D-TX]Rep. Raul Grijalva [D-AZ]
Rep. Debra Haaland [D-NM]Rep. Alcee Hastings [D-FL]Rep. Jahana Hayes [D-CT]Rep. Denny Heck [D-WA]
Rep. Brian Higgins [D-NY]Rep. James Himes [D-CT]Rep. Steven Horsford [D-NV]Rep. Chrissy Houlahan [D-PA]
Rep. Steny Hoyer [D-MD]Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA]Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee [D-TX]Rep. Pramila Jayapal [D-WA]
Rep. Hakeem Jeffries [D-NY]Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX]Rep. Henry Johnson [D-GA]Rep. Marcy Kaptur [D-OH]
Rep. William Keating [D-MA]Rep. Robin Kelly [D-IL]Rep. Joseph Kennedy [D-MA]Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA]
Rep. Daniel Kildee [D-MI]Rep. Derek Kilmer [D-WA]Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D-AZ]Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi [D-IL]
Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH]Rep. James Langevin [D-RI]Rep. John Larson [D-CT]Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI]
Rep. Al Lawson [D-FL]Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA]Rep. Andy Levin [D-MI]Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA]
Rep. John Lewis [D-GA]Rep. Daniel Lipinski [D-IL]Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA]Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA]
Rep. Nita Lowey [D-NY]Rep. Ben Lujan [D-NM]Rep. Stephen Lynch [D-MA]Rep. Lucy McBath [D-GA]
Rep. Betty McCollum [D-MN]Rep. Donald McEachin [D-VA]Rep. James McGovern [D-MA]Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA]
Rep. Tom Malinowski [D-NJ]Rep. Carolyn Maloney [D-NY]Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY]Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA]
Rep. Gregory Meeks [D-NY]Rep. Grace Meng [D-NY]Rep. Gwen Moore [D-WI]Rep. Joseph Morelle [D-NY]
Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA]Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell [D-FL]Rep. Stephanie Murphy [D-FL]Rep. Jerrold Nadler [D-NY]
Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA]Rep. Richard Neal [D-MA]Rep. Joseph Neguse [D-CO]Rep. Eleanor Norton [D-DC]
Rep. Donald Norcross [D-NJ]Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez [D-NY]Rep. Ilhan Omar [D-MN]Rep. Frank Pallone [D-NJ]
Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA]Rep. Bill Pascrell [D-NJ]Rep. Donald Payne [D-NJ]Rep. Ed Perlmutter [D-CO]
Rep. Dean Phillips [D-MN]Rep. Chellie Pingree [D-ME]Rep. Mark Pocan [D-WI]Rep. Ayanna Pressley [D-MA]
Rep. David Price [D-NC]Rep. Mike Quigley [D-IL]Rep. Jamie Raskin [D-MD]Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY]
Rep. Cedric Richmond [D-LA]Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA]Rep. Max Rose [D-NY]Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA]
Rep. C.A. Ruppersberger [D-MD]Rep. Bobby Rush [D-IL]Rep. Tim Ryan [D-OH]Rep. Gregorio Sablan [I-MP]
Rep. Linda Sanchez [D-CA]Rep. John Sarbanes [D-MD]Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon [D-PA]Rep. Janice Schakowsky [D-IL]
Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA]Rep. Bradley Schneider [D-IL]Rep. Robert Scott [D-VA]Rep. David Scott [D-GA]
Rep. Jose Serrano [D-NY]Rep. Donna Shalala [D-FL]Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA]Rep. Albio Sires [D-NJ]
Rep. Adam Smith [D-WA]Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL]Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA]Rep. Thomas Suozzi [D-NY]
Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA]Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA]Rep. Rashida Tlaib [D-MI]Rep. Dina Titus [D-NV]
Rep. Paul Tonko [D-NY]Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA]Rep. Lori Trahan [D-MA]Rep. David Trone [D-MD]
Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA]Rep. Nydia Velazquez [D-NY]Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz [D-FL]Rep. Bonnie Coleman [D-NJ]
Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA]Rep. Peter Welch [D-VT]Rep. Jennifer Wexton [D-VA]Rep. Frederica Wilson [D-FL]
Rep. John Yarmuth [D-KY]Rep. James Clyburn [D-SC]Rep. Ed Case [D-HI]Rep. Rebecca Sherrill [D-NJ]
Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA]Rep. Antonio Delgado [D-NY]Rep. Peter Visclosky [D-IN]Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA]
Rep. Adriano Espaillat [D-NY]Rep. Sylvia Garcia [D-TX]Rep. Rick Larsen [D-WA]Rep. Harley Rouda [D-CA]
Rep. Mike Levin [D-CA]Rep. Dwight Evans [D-PA]Rep. David Loebsack [D-IA]Rep. Suzanne Lee [D-NV]


2019-02-15HouseReferred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
2019-02-15HouseIntroduced in House

Same As/Similar To

SB66 (Related) 2019-01-09 - Read twice and referred to the Committee on the Judiciary. (Sponsor introductory remarks on measure: CR S103-104)
HB1186 (Related) 2019-03-25 - Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security.
SB447 (Related) 2019-02-12 - Read twice and referred to the Committee on the Judiciary.
HB2959 (Related) 2019-05-23 - Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.


US Congress State Sources

Bill Comments